John Digance Trophy


John Digance joined the TTG Masters Swimming Club in 1983. He had some prior knowledge at setting up a swimming club from his experience in swimming at Port Augusta.

He was a quiet, dedicated club member, a very fit hard trainer who attended club functions regularly.

John competed when and wherever he could for TTG club points. He enjoyed great success and won many medals in South Australia, Interstate and overseas in New Zealand.

John was largely involved in the design of the original club uniform, tracksuit and the club logo.

John became a committee member in the 1980’s and was the nominations officer until he died suddenly. John died of a heart attack during a training session on the 5th of June 1995.

John’s family decided to honour John’s love of swimming by dedicating this Annual Award to a club member who most emulates John’s dedication and love of swimming.

For the first five years John’s family attended our AGM’s to present this award.


The club member who:

  • Swims for fun and fitness
  • Trains regularly and well
  • Is a team member and encourages others
  • Assists with club activities
  • Improves in fitness and technique
Previous Winners
1996Jenny Mulqueen
1997Joan Edwards
1998Jenny Mulqueen
1999Eithne Mayton
2000Eithne Mayton
2001Brian Robinson
2002John Harrison
2003Brian Robinson
2004Brian Robinson and Eithne Mayton
2005Jaquie Cavanagh
2006Shane Starr
2007Maddi Edgley-Smith
2008Maddi Edgley-Smith
2009Bob O’Brien
2010John Gamlen
2011Ian Thorpe
2012Mick Hughes
2013Mick Hughes
2014Arthur Moraitis
2015Janice Gill
2016Katherine Whaites
2017Maddi Edgely-Smith
2018Bernadette Shears
2019Bernadette Shears
2020John Flower
2021John Gamlen
2022John Gamlen
2023John Gamlen