Endurance 1000 Swims

The Endurance 1000 program is a swimming program designed to encourage people to compete in distances from 400m to 60 minutes duration in a variety of strokes. The program is entirely optional and to achieve the required goals (which relate to gender and age groupings) the swims are done over the calendar year.

Points are gained for the completion of each different event (400m, 800m, 1500m, 30 mins, 45 mins, 60 mins). These combine with points gained by fellow club members and contribute to a total point score for each competing club.

Timing for the Endurance 1000 is done at the Friday night training sessions and an occasional Sunday morning Endurance Swim Session. Des Mulqueen is the Endurance 1000 Co-ordinator within the club.

YearWinnerPointsRunner UpPoints
2008Eithne Mayton150 pointsMaddi Edgley-Smith49 points
2009Eithne Mayton165 pointsJenny Mulqueen140 points
2010Jenny MulqueenEithne Mayton
2011Jenny MulqueenRachel Smith
2012Jenny Mulqueen425 pointsRachel Smith236 points
2013Rachel Smith601 pointsHelen Haberfield511 points
2014Karen Mentha726 pointsJenny Mulqueen420 points
2015John Gamlen400 pointsjenny Mulqueen344 points
2016Helen Haberfield580 pointsJohn Gamlen515 points
2017Rosalind Gumbys1005 pointsHelen Haberfield875 points
2018Rosalind Gumbys1005 pointsHelen Haberfield470 points
2019Rosalind Gumbys
Dale McDiarmid
1005 points
1005 points
Helen Haberfield610 points
2020Bernadette Shears630 pointsDale McDiarmid475 points
2021Bernadette Shears880 pointsHelen Haberfield688 points
2022Bernadette Shears880 pointsHelen Haberfield570 points
2023Bernadette Shears880 pointsHelen Haberfield600 points